Select Counties in California to Participate in New Ignition Interlock Law for DUI Offenders
Many California drivers will be affected by the new ignition interlock law that will go into effect on July 1, 2010.
Next Thursday, select counties in the state of California will participate in a new Ignition Interlock law and will require first time DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock in their car for 5 months. A second time offender will have an interlock for 1 year and a third time offender will have one for 2 years.
Initially, the law will only apply to these counties: Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare. In July of 2015, the California Department of Motor Vehicles will research the law's effectiveness in reducing the number of repeat drunk drivers.
This bill is expected to affect many CA drivers. In the state of California, there are approximately 200,000 DUI arrests a year. Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare county make up approximately 40 percent of those arrests.
An ignition interlock is a device that is installed into the steering column of the car. A driver must blow into the device in order for their car to start. If the interlock detects a certain amount of alcohol on the driver's breath, the car will not start.
For more information on California ignition interlock laws and the interlock technology, Smart Start of California's website is a high-quality resource to get all of the information needed. Smart Start is a brand of ignition interlocks dedicated to providing excellent customer service. http://www.smartstartofcalifornia.com.
SOURCE - Free-Press-Release.com
For more Current News and Driving Tips: